Three Hat Tricks Take Home FPHL Hardware

by Hat Tricks Staff

DANBURY, CT – Forward Jonny Ruiz, defenseman Steve Brown and General Manager Billy McCreary are bringing home 2021-22 FPHL season awards.

Ruiz has been named an FPHL Top Forward, while Brown has been named a Top Defenseman. Both players have been added to the All-FPHL First Team.

Ruiz put together a career-year in 2021-22 as the Hat Tricks’ captain. Currently, Ruiz has the sixth most points in the FPHL with 83 and is tied for fourth with 48 goals. Both totals are career-bests for Ruiz and lead the Hat Tricks.

Ruiz started the season by recording in a point in his first 16 games of the year. Over that stretch, he recorded 15 goals and 26 points to lead Danbury to a strong start.

Ruiz has been a prolific weapon for the Hat Tricks power play, scoring 13 times on the man-advantage. He has the second-most power-play goals in the league.

Head Coach Dave MacIsaac says the key to Ruiz’s success is his availability.

“He’s durable,” said MacIsaac. “When he gets banged up, he can still compete at a high-level and fight through it.”

Brown has been a steady force all season on the back-end for Danbury. Spending most of the season on the top pair with Aaron Atwell, Brown has played a ton of meaningful minutes.

Often tasked against the opponent’s best line, his play in his own zone has kept those top-lines off the scoresheet.

Brown has also contributed 16 points for the Hat Tricks this season and has spent time as the net-front option on the Danbury power play.

MacIsaac, a former defenseman, says Brown’s efficiency in his play-making separates him from other players in the league.

“He has a lot of experience and he can make plays without skating as much as younger players would to make the same play,” MacIsaac said.

Hat Tricks General Manager and Director of Hockey Operations Billy McCreary has been named a recipient of the FPHL Founder’s Award. McCreary is the second winner of this award in Hat Tricks history as John Krupinsky got the same honor after the 2019-20 season.